Hey Carter! Books Brings Holiday Cheer to Children of Color Everywhere Hosting the Inaugural Virtual Storytime with Cocoa Santa

Giving the Gift of Representation This Holiday Season Virtually

CONCORD, Calif.: Hey Carter! Books is spreading the gift of holiday cheer and representation by hosting Virtual Storytime with Cocoa Santa. Beginning on Sunday, November 29th at 10:30 AM (EST), and every following Sunday until Christmas, Cocoa Santa will read a book from Hey Carter! Books series. There will also be giveaways and a holiday singalong. Each child who attends the storytime will receive a special gift in the mail from Cocoa Santa that includes a Hey Carter! Books coloring book and a multicultural crayons pack. Virtual Storytime with Cocoa Santa is an opportunity for children of color to enjoy a Christmas moment with a Santa who looks like them.

Hey Carter! Books was founded in 2016 and is a black-owned publishing company. Their mission is to provide a representation of Black and brown boys in children's books. Thomisha Booker launched Hey Carter! Books after the birth of her son, Carter, as she was disappointed in the lack of representation in children's books. Hey Carter! Books focus on building self-identity and confidence in young Black and brown boys. Recently, Thomisha's work Brown Boy Joy was featured in the Netflix original series Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices featuring Jill Scott, Common, and Tiffany Haddish. She is the only self-published author among the cast of celebrities and New York Times Best Selling Authors.

"Christmas is a holiday where Black children and families are often missing from the narrative. Entire storylines are created around this one day but somehow we are always left out. I see myself as a curator for magical worlds where Black children are represented. This year Hey Carter! Books are bringing the magic of Christmas to homes with our Virtual Storytime. We will be giving away free prizes and spreading holiday cheer, Cocoa Santa style. I am so excited for children to see themselves on such a magical holiday. This is what representation looks like!" says Thomisha Booker, Author of Hey Carter! Books.

Storytimes:

November 29th at 7:30 AM (PST), 9:30 AM (CST), 10:30 AM (EST)

December 6th at 7:30 AM (PST), 9:30 AM (CST), 10:30 AM (EST)

December 13th at 7:30 AM (PST), 9:30 AM (CST), 10:30 AM (EST)

December 20th at 7:30 AM (PST), 9:30 AM (CST), 10:30 AM (EST)


Click Here To Download Apeksha News Mobile Application From Android & Apple IOS



RELATED POSTS




Leave a Comment